Zones in Oslo and Akershus

Ruter's and NSB's services in Oslo and Akershus provide public transport in eight zones. Fares are calculated based on the number of zones you travel through. 

How many zones on my journey?

You can calculate zones and fares using our Journey Planner.

About the zones

There are eight zones covering the Oslo and Akershus region (1, 2Ø, 2S, 2V, 3Ø, 3S, 4S and 4N). There are also five zones defined outside the area covered by Ruter's main services (3V, 4V, 4S, 4Ø and 5S). Some of our bus services extend into these zones, and in some cases we have joint ticket and fare systems with neighbouring counties.

Please note! The entire Metro system is in Zone 1.

Zone map

View zone map in our Journey Planner.

Zone map